Honorary Fellows

During its annual graduation ceremony, the Royal Welsh College of Music & Drama awards a number of honorary fellowships to individuals in recognition of outstanding achievements within the fields of music, drama and the related arts. Many of these honorary fellows have made significant contributions to raising the profile of Wales and the college on the world stage.

Many fellows are involved in a variety of activities in support of the development of the Royal Welsh College of Music & Drama and its mission to provide world-class training, in Wales, for some of the most talented individuals from around the world.


Paul Abbott
Keith Allen
Christopher Adey
Rakie Ayola


Michael Ball
Dame Shirley Bassey
Elinor Bennett
Hywel Bennett
Michael Berkeley
Michael Bogdanov
Roy Bohana
Barbara Bonney
Gregory Bowen
Max Boyce
Michael Boyce (deceased)
Helena Braithwaite
Paul Brown
Rob Brydon
Moira Buffini
Roger Burnell
Stuart Burrows
Mervyn Burtch (deceased)
Kate Burton
Julian Bream


John Caird
Wyn Calvin
Philip & Christine Carne
Harry Christophers
Paul Clements
Courtney Conte
Pauline Crossley
Sean Crowley
Peter Curran


Arthur Davidson (deceased)
Bryan Davies (deceased)
J Geraint Davies
John S Davies
Russell Davies
Ryland Davies
Peter Doran


David Edwards
Meredith Edwards (deceased)
Raymond Edwards (deceased)
Siôn Eirian
Osian Ellis
David Emanuel
Dame Anne Evans
Daniel Evans
Lee Evans
Rebecca Evans


Catrin Finch
John Fisher
Edmond Fivet
Jason Flanagan
Peter Florence
Alun Francis
Anthony Freud
Elizabeth Friendship
Benjamin Frith


Julie Gardner
David Gedge (deceased)
Larissa Gergieva
Peter Gill
Evelyn Glennie
Nick Goding
Lucy Gould
David S. Goyer
Michael Grandage
Peter Greenaway
Kenneth Griffith (deceased)
Richard Griffiths (deceased)
Ioan Gruffudd
George Guest (deceased)
Gareth Gwenlan (deceased)
Hywel Gwynfryn


Simon Halsey
Professor David Halton
Vernon Handley (deceased)
Terry Hands
John Hardy
Eiddwen Harrhy
Edwina Hart
John Hefin (deceased)
Richard Hickox (deceased)
Alison Hindell
Alun Hoddinott (deceased)
Sir Anthony Hopkins
Glyn Houston
Elgar Howarth
Gwynne Howell
Richard Hudson
Owain Arwel Hughes
Brian Hughes


Rhys Ifans


Erika James
Gerald James (deceased)
Emyr Jenkins
Karl Jenkins
Katherine Jenkins
Alun John
Caryl Parry Jones
Daniel Jones (deceased)
Della Jones
Glynne Jones (deceased)
Griff Rhys Jones
Dame Gwyneth Jones
Geraint Stanley Jones (deceased)
Jean Stanley Jones
Quincy Jones
Richard Jones
Ruth Jones
Sam Jones
Stewart Jones (deceased)
Terry Jones
Sir Tom Jones
Rosemary Joshua


Peter Karrie
Thomas Kurrer


Donna Lewis
Roger Lewis
Frank Lincoln
Christian Lindberg
Robert Lloyd
Captain Sir Norman Lloyd-Edwards
Wilbert Lloyd-Roberts (deceased)


Julien Macdonald
John Macfarlane
Sir Charles Mackerras (deceased)
Brian McMaster
Richard McMahon
James MacMillan
Philip Madoc (deceased)
Ruth Madoc
Sir John Manduell
Lyndsey Marshal
William Mathias (deceased)
Donald Maxwell
John Metcalf
Lisabeth Miles
Christopher Mowat
Timothy James Mitchell
John Mitchinson
Steven Moffat
Canon R.H. Morgan (deceased)
Geraint Morris (deceased)
Islwyn Morris (deceased)
Vicki Mortimer
Christopher Mowat
Suzanne Murphy
Eve Myles


Alice Neary
Anthony Negus


John Ogwen
Tadaaki Otaka
Dennis O'Neill


Peter Palmer (deceased)
Siân Phillips CBE
Tom Piper
Lynne Plowman
Rachel Podger
Michael Pollock
David Poutney CBE
Meic Povey
Janet Price
Dame Margaret Price (deceased)
Jonathan Pryce


Angharad Rees (deceased)
Matthew Rhys
Menna Richards OBE
Carlo Rizzi
Bernard Roberts (deceased)
Cefin Roberts
Eric Roberts
Pennant Roberts (deceased)
Tim Routledge
Christopher Ryde


Lady Anya Sainsbury
Dougray Scott
Tom Scutt
Sir Harry Secombe (deceased)
David Seligman OBE
Michael Sheen
Stephen Sondheim
Victor Spinetti (deceased)
John Stein
Stan Stennett (deceased)
Ian Stoutzker
Sir Howard Stringer
Ingrid Surgenor


Mathew Talfan
Robert Tear (deceased)
Sir Bryn Terfel CBE
Caryl Thomas
Ed Thomas
Edward Thomas
John Hugh Thomas
Elin Manahan Thomas
Rachel Thomas (deceased)
Keith Tippett
Bonnie Tyler


Beatrice Unsworth


Elizabeth Vaughan
Maxim Vengerov


Amy Wadge
James Walker
Lady Susana Walton (deceased)
Jeremy Ward
Jeremy West
Paul Watkins
Lord Andrew Lloyd-Webber
Anna Williams
Huw Tregelles Williams
Clifford Williams (deceased)
Iris Williams
Llŷr Williams
Sioned Williams
Dr Andrew Wilson-Dickson


Catherine Zeta-Jones